Eddie Eats Out – And So Can You.

12 Jan
Hello, readers!
Today we’ve chosen a selection of reviews from a charming website called Eddie Eats Out“The only Restaurant Review Site for Dogs.” The writer of the blog takes her dog with her to local New York City restaurants, grabs pics with the staff, and writes reviews about the food and environment. We love the tone and humor, and we’ve posted a selection of reviews below – been to any of these places? We’d love to hear about your experience!
Bonus tip: If you haven’t tried something creative for your restaurant, and are planning ahead for the warmer months, consider a program similar to the one this writer recently sponsored on her Facebook page, called “Dog Restaurant Week.” Take a look at the posts and pics – it really got a ton of different communities involved, and even received coverage from the Huffington Post! Pets are a great way to encourage business, and with social media so accessible, advertising and networking is easier than ever. Eddie Eats Out also has a twitter account set up for the site and used a #hashtag -#drw2010 – to get everyone organized during the Dog Restaurant Week event. A good example of creative thinking, catering to what interests your customers, and making it happen using social media.
Enjoy the reviews!
-The DineLocal-USA Team

Dog friendly restaurant
Sophie’s
New York, NY
509 E 5th St
212-228-5680
Service
Water Bowl
Food
Overall

I got to go inside because it was chilly out. This bar kind of a dive, but the bartender was great and a dog lover. The service was fast and the drinks were cheap. The bartender gave me a chicken strip doggy treat and a real water bowl! As a dog, I got served before my human friends, which is the way it should be. I also got lots of pets from the staff. My mommy said that the bathrooms were nice and clean despite the fact that the bar was a little dirty.

B Side
New York, NY
204 Ave B
(212) 475-4600
Service
Water Bowl
Food
Overall

This is a little dive-ish but not too dirty. It is a sports bar with TVs to watch the game. I was allowed inside the bar, as there is no kitchen.

Customers are allowed to bring in outside food (we brought in pizza). I loved the atmosphere here because I got lots of attention! As the only dog at the bar, people were taking turns spending time with me and giving me tidbits of food… (I got French fries and a bite of a burger. YUM) I made lots of new human friends at B Side and I can’t wait to go again!!

La Bottega – The Maritime Hotel
New York, NY
88 9th Avenue
(212) 243 8400
Service
Water Bowl
Food
Overall

Mommy and I went to La Bottega, which is the Italian restaurant at the Maritime Hotel. There is lots of outdoor seating, some of which is covered, so it’s great for a hot day when you don’t want to sit in the sun! On that day, it was really hot out, so we got drinks first. I got a ceramic yellow water bowl…. and they even put ice in it! Mommy had a cocktail, and she said it was really good.

The waiter came over several times to check on how I was doing. I was having a great time because I got to meet lots of other dogs. We finally decided to order a Margherita pizza. It was so yummy! I kept begging for more

Regional Thai
New York, NY
208 7th Ave
(212)-807-9872
Service
Water Bowl
Food
Overall

The other day we went for Thai food in Chelsea. We ate outside, and the waiter immediately gave me a bowl of water in a take-out plastic container. They even put ice in it. The guy at the table next to me let me have some of his calamari…. I had never had calamari before, but I loved it.

My sister had Regional Thai Ginger Chicken…. She thought it was great, but a little spicy for me.

Overall I really had fun at this restaurant, and was glad I was able to try some new food.

Leave a Reply

